je ne sais plus trop si je l'ai déjà dit par ici...
mais les françaises débarquant à johannesbourg ont la très grande chance d'être accueillies par les Gentilles Organisatrices de jobourg accueil
l'association se charge d'organiser café, visites, randonnées et autres activités pour nous permettre de prendre le pouls de la ville et; plus généralement du pays, qui nous accueillent
ces chouettes nanas m'ont demandé de participer à la rédaction de leur journal
...
pour celles que cela intéresse, voici l'interview que j'ai réalisée de bijou, une jeune étudiante, ambassadrice de sa ville,
puisqu'elle fait partie de l'association qui fait visiter la tour ponte (dont je vous avais déjà parlé dans un précédent billet)
une fois n'est pas coutume, je vous livre ses réponses en anglais ;)

1.  Why did you decide to work with Dlala Nje? 
- Initially the Dlala Nje’s tourist guide team was made up of only male, later in time the directors decided to bring in the idea of having a female tourist guide so I and a few other ladies where invited to an interview process. I was lucky enough to pass all three of the stages which included research and presentations. 
I started working at Dlala Nje in November 2016, and I decided to continue working at Dlala Nje because I am a person that likes to meet new people and I find passion in interacting with new people. Every time I give a tour, it gives me great joy to know that I impacted someone’s life and I left a footprint, whether it is their first time in Africa or South Africa. It is a blissful feeling to be part of a tourist/guest’s experience. 
I also decided to work with Dlala Nje because I was born and raised in Johannesburg and I grew up within the streets of Hillbrow, Yeoville and Berea. The opportunity to be able to share my personal experience and to be able to tell people about where I am from, is just phenomenal and definitely not a chance that happens on a sunny day.

2.  Do you live next to Ponte Tower? Do you go to school near Pont Tower?
- No, I currently live in Randburg, the north of Johannesburg and I moved here in 2014 after living in Yeoville for the most of my childhood. I am currently studying at the University of Johannesburg which is not near the Ponte Tower but I schooled near Ponte Tower in primary.

3.  How do you organise your schedules to share time between school and visits?
- I am a full time student at the university. I am very lucky to have directors that understand that I am still a student so they tend to work around my school schedule. I have challenges here and there, but then again what’s a life without struggle in order to claim victory in the end. I am also very lucky to be working in the industry in which my course entails, so I have the first-hand experience to work with international guests and have a part of theory in school, put into practice at work.

4.  What is your mother tongue? What is your family story which bring you to speak French? 
- My mother tongue is Tshiluba, it is a native language from the DRC (Democratic Republic of Congo) although I do not speak the language. I was born and raised in Johannesburg, South Africa. My mother is an educator so she spoke to us (my siblings and I) in English more than any other language but growing up, whenever we’d visit our family members we were forced to speak French, Lingala and Swahili (languages spoken in the DRC) hence I know how to speak the language. Growing in South Africa I was not necessarily exposed to people from the DRC (except family-but even they started speaking to us in English in order to learn the language) so for a moment the languages started becoming a memory, I completely forgot how to speak Swahili but when I started my first year in university, that was the first time I was given an opportunity to have a big group of Congolese friends that speak exceptional French and miraculously the language returned; until this very day I have valued the chance in being able to speak, write and read the language. Haha, they say old ways never die, I guess it works even for languages!

JB

IMG_5488

JB3